Sexuality in Art

an exploration of sexuality, feminism, LGBT issues, and other related topics in the contemporary art world.

Lady Gaga discusses art and sexuality on set | PORTER magazine

Leave a comment

I don’t always… “agree” with what Lady Gaga says and does but I have to say that I do respect her as an artist, and as hard as it is to admit, I can sometimes actually identify with some of her artistic philosophies.

However, this video kind of annoys me. She seems like she’s trying to claim that her own sexuality and sexual identity are totally separate from her work, which I kind of feel like isn’t true. As a celebrity, your identity is your brand. I don’t know her personally so I can’t speak to her but her music, videos, and performances often have a highly sexual nature and since she writes all or most of her music it would be very difficult to keep all of that separate from your own identity.

I kind of feel like she’s just trying to be “cool” and have this sort of androgynous hippie vibe with this video and as much as she’s done for the LGBT community, I personally feel like she doesn’t always totally get it – especially when it comes to gender fluidity and queer culture. But maybe I’m just mad because she has a lot of money and I don’t.

I don’t know, watch the video and decide for yourself! Let me know what you think in the comments!

Leave a Reply

